Grace

Grace has been on my mind a lot lately (and what an amazing thing to dwell on!)

Something that I have really struggled with over the last year is feeling completely inadequate as a mother.  Society says we should try to be perfect parents and seems to judge anyone or anything that falls short. But the Bible has the opposite message. The Bible says we’re not perfect, we can never be perfect, but we are loved anyway. Imperfect people saved by a perfect Christ.

Nothing we can ever do will make us perfect. It is only Jesus who can do this. And even our faith itself is not of our own achievement or work. Hebrews 12:2 says that it is Jesus who is “the author and finisher of our faith”.

So God doesn’t judge me on my (in)ability to be a perfect wife, mother, friend and Christian, so why do I judge myself? If I can be secure in God’s love for me, and his amazing gift of grace, then I can be secure despite how the world seems to judge me.

Leave a comment